About me

10th September 2014.

Hi, my name is Ellena and I’m 26 year old. My boyfriend, Rory, and I have decided to hand in our notices, pack our things and live out in South America for a bit. For how long, we’re not sure, but ideally, we’d like to be out there for at least a year.

I am a fully qualified Secondary school teacher. I studied Contemporary European Studies & Modern Languages (French and Spanish) at Southampton University from 2007-2011. As part of my degree, I spent a year living and studying in Granada, Spain. I have always loved languages, but even after graduating, I still didn’t know what I wanted to do. I have always enjoyed teaching and have done private tuition and held after school clubs over the years. I decided to try it out as a teacher and managed to get on a GTP (Graduate Teaching Programme) in 2012. Before starting the course, my boyfriend and I went travelling around South America for 3 months. We started off volunteering for a month at a school in Huanchaco, a small coastal town in Northern Peru. We then spent the next 2 months backpacking down Southern Peru, into Bolivia, Chile and then Argentina. We absolutely loved it!

Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia, 2012.
Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia, 2012.

Rory has little teaching experience. He graduated in a Masters in Acoustical Engineering and has worked as an acoustical engineer for the same company for the past two years. Despite quitting his job, Rory intends on returning to this field of work. In the meantime, he continues to be interested and loves studying and reading up about his specialism. He would like to make use of his subject knowledge whilst out in South America, perhaps teaching English to engineers. He speaks some Spanish and his aim is to become more proficient in the language and to experience a different culture and another way of life. He also hopes that teaching will give him more confidence in public speaking and improve his presentation skills.

 

Question? Suggestion? Let me know below: